JazzNet: News
You are in:  Home > Jazz > News   •  Archives   •  send page to a friend

Headline Feed
Email to a friend




By Culturekiosque Staff

WASHINGTON, DC, 12 JULY 2013 — The National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) announced recently the recipients of the 2014 NEA Jazz Masters Award - America's highest honor in this distinctly American music. The four recipients will each receive a $25,000 grant award and be publicly honoured in an awards ceremony and concert on Monday, 13 January 2014 at Frederick P. Rose Hall, home of Jazz at Lincoln Center.  A limited number of free tickets will be available for the public. 

For the 2014 NEA Jazz Masters, the panel considered 144 nominations submitted from the public including the music community. Nominees must demonstrate a significant contribution to the art form through their publicly recognized and accessible body of work in the field of jazz..

The four 2014 NEA Jazz Masters are: Richard Davis and Keith Jarrett for bringing their jazz background into other musical genres such as classical music and rock and roll, Anthony Braxton for his avant-garde creations (such as Ghost Trance Music) which defy categorization through his use of the improvised and rhythmic nature, and Jamey Aebersold for his development of an interactive jazz education tool that can be used anywhere. 

Anthony Braxton

Anthony Braxton
Composer, Saxophonist, Clarinetist, Flutist, Pianist, Educator
Born 4 June 1945 in Chicago, Illinois. Currently resides in Middletown, Connecticut

Richard Davis
Bassist, Educator
Born 15 April 1930 in Chicago, Illinois. Currently resides in Madison, Wisconsin

Keith Jarrett
Pianist, Composer
Born 8 May 1945 in Allentown, Pennsylvania. Currently resides in Oxford, New Jersey.

Jamey Aebersold
Educator, Saxophonist, Pianist, Bassist, Banjo player
Born 21 July 1939 in and currently resides in New Albany, Indiana

Full profiles of the 2014 NEA Jazz Masters are located on the NEA’s website.

Each year since 1982, the Arts Endowment has conferred the NEA Jazz Masters Award to living legends who have made major contributions to jazz. With this new class, 132 awards have been given to great figures of jazz in America, including Count Basie, George Benson, Art Blakey, Dave Brubeck, Ornette Coleman, Miles Davis, Ella Fitzgerald, Dizzy Gillespie, Lionel Hampton, Herbie Hancock, John Levy, Abbey Lincoln, Max Roach, Sonny Rollins, Cecil Taylor, Sarah Vaughan, Nancy Wilson, and the Marsalis Family.

For more information on NEA Jazz Masters, please visit www.neajazzmasters.org.

Headline Image: Keith Jarrett

Related Culturekiosque Archives

Interview in Tokyo: Keith Jarrett: Zen in the Art of Jazz

NEA Chairman Dana Gioia to Stanford Grads: Without Arts Education, America Facing Cultural, Economic Disaster

[ Feedback | Home ]

If you value this page, please send it to a friend.


Copyright © 2013 Euromedia Group, Ltd. All Rights Reserved.