Jazz: Travel
You are in:  Home > Jazz > Travel   •  Archives   •  send page to a friend
Headline Feed
Email to a friend




Staff Report

SAN FRANCISCO, 10 October 2006 — Presented by the non-profit SFJAZZ and in its 24th edition, the San Francisco Jazz Festival is a major Bay Area event that features matinee and evening concerts, jazz on film and a brunch aboard a luxury yacht. 

Highlights of the three-week autumn festival include:

Friday, October 20, 8pm
Masonic Center
"Opening Night Concert"
Sonny Rollins

Saturday, October 21, 8pm
Herbst Theatre
James Cotton Blues Band with Special Guest Hubert Sumlin

Sunday, October 22, 11am
Signature Yacht Events’ SF Spirit, Pier 9
"Swingin’ on the Bay: Jazz Brunch Cruise"
Lavay Smith and Her Red Hot Skillet Lickers;
Steve Lucky and the Rhumba Bums
$90 GA

Sunday, October 22, 7pm
Regency Center Grand Ballroom
Meshell Ndegeocello
$45 GA

Wednesday, October 25, 7:30pm
Herbst Theatre
"Jimmy Heath’s 80th Birthday Celebration"
The Heath Brothers with Special Guest Jeremy Pelt

Thursday, October 26, 7:30pm
Herbst Theatre
"Young Masters"
Stefon Harris presents "African Tarantella: Dances With Duke"; 
Miguel Zenón Quartet

Friday, October 27, 8pm
Herbst Theatre
Cyrus Chestnut/Russell Malone Quartet; Lionel Loueke Trio

Saturday, October 28, 8pm
Herbst Theatre
Arturo Sandoval

Sunday, October 29, 7pm
Herbst Theatre
"The Music of Andrew Hill"
Andrew Hill Quintet;
Nels Cline: New Monastery - A View Into the Music of Andrew Hill

Friday, November 3, 8pm
Palace of Fine Arts Theatre
Charles Lloyd with Zakir Hussain and Eric Harland

Saturday, November 4, 8pm
Masonic Center
Alice Coltrane featuring Ravi Coltrane with Charlie Haden and Roy Haynes

Saturday, November 4, 8pm & Sunday, November 5, 7pm
Palace of Fine Arts Theatre
Marisa Monte

Sunday, November 5, 7pm
Herbst Theatre
Django Reinhardt Festival featuring Dorado Schmitt


Friday, November 10, 8pm
Herbst Theatre
"SFJAZZ Beacon Award Concert"
Mary Stallings with the Marcus Shelby Orchestra

Saturday, November 11, 8pm
Herbst Theatre
Ahmad Jamal

Sunday, November 12, 7pm
Florence Gould Theater, Legion of Honor
"The New Fado"
Ana Moura

Sunday, November 12, 7pm
Palace of Fine Arts Theatre
"The Farewell Concert"
John Santos and The Machete Ensemble
with Special Guests Jerry Medina and María Márquez


24th Annual San Francisco Jazz Festival
17 October - 12 November 2006
Various venues in San Francisco
Box Office & Retail Store
3 Embarcadero Center,
Lobby Level
San Francisco, California 94111
Tel: (1) 415 788 73 53
1-800-850-SFJF (toll-free)

Related CK Archives: GOLDEN GATE JAZZ, a review of the San Francisco Jazz Festival  

[ Feedback | Home ]

If you value this page, please send it to a friend.

Copyright © 2005 Euromedia Group, Ltd. All Rights Reserved.