KlassikNet: Features
You are in:  Home > KlassikNet: Classical Music > Features   •  Archives   •  send page to a friend






Yehudi Menuhin



Yehudi Menuhin



Yehudi and Hephzibah Menuhin



Yehudi Menuhin



Yehudi Menuhin



Photos : EMI



Yehudi Menuhin (1916-1999)
Three stages in the life of a violinist

By Eric Taver

PARIS, 7 May 1999 - Extravagant tribute has been paid "to the musician and especially the man" (heard on a radio program) who was Yehudi Menuhin. Some even confused the man with the enterprises that profit from the Menuhin "logo" and prosper in its wake. They almost forgot to speak about Menuhin the violinist, the phenomenon who simultaneously astounded America between the wars, commissioned and created one of the masterpieces of the 20th century - Bartok's Sonata for solo violin - and conversed on an equal footing in the greatest concertos of the German repertoire with one of the masters of the tradition - Wilhelm Furtwängler.

Menuhin is primarily an American phenomenon. He was probably the first child violin prodigy to come from the New World and become famous there. I can think of only one predecessor: Louis Persinger. Born in Rochester, but soon forgotten as a child prodigy even though benefitting from lessons with the Belgian violinist Ysaÿe, Persinger was, between 1914 and 1915, concert master of the Berlin Philharmonic under Arthur Nikisch, before being the first great teacher of... Yehudi Menuhin. As we shall see, the career of Louis Persinger was truly a dress rehearsal for that of Menuhin, as if the United States needed a prototype before producing Menuhin.

His second great teacher, who made him feel like "a midget", was Enesco. Enesco was not American but a wanderer. In Vienna and then in Paris where he was the pupil of the Belgian Martin Marsick, Enesco was Romanian. But in his own country, he was not Romanian but Moldavian. Persinger and Enesco taught Menuhin in the style of the Franco-Belgian school, but as reinvented by exiles. In fact, Menuhin's playing was self-taught, a new style of playing, just as America is the new world.

We can more easily understand, when listening to his pre-war recordings, Menuhin's famous statement that he would like to combine "Kreisler's elegance, Elman's sonority ('the violin that speaks') and Heifetz's technique". The role model for a career in these pre-war years was, of course, Heifetz. Menuhin was born in 1916, and Heifetz arrived in the United States in 1917, where his virtuosity had the effect of an explosion: the young Yehudi's education took place while America was acclaiming Heifetz. His first recordings, the most fascinating violinistically, attest to this influence.

Heifetz, strictly from a technical point of view, is already our contemporary. We must not, however, forget that Heifetz's style, rather pretentious with his violin held very high, is not contemporary. We must wait one more generation before this feeling of a faded charm disappears definitively.

The first violinists to speak a language that is still of our time are Milstein, Oïstrakh, and Menuhin. They dominate the post-war period. Menuhin was no longer the flamboyant prodigy of earlier years. History had given him a sort of new humility, a new responsibility. In addition, having commissioned a "little piece" from Bartók, to help him out, he must, in 1944, introduce a masterpiece and struggle to master its frightening technical difficulties. Listen to the fugue from the Sonata in the 1947 recording, played slowly, obstinately, with tenacity rather than panache. Menuhin is wrestling with his own facility.

But, for Menuhin, the major post-war event was his meeting with Furtwängler. Having spent two summers with the German violinist Adolf Busch Menuhin had already discovered German culture. In rehabilitating the German conductor accused of pro-Nazi sympathy, it is also an entire tradition, German culture in its totality, that this New York Jewish violinist means to defend in the midst of America's triumphant cheers. And because he has learned to seek, to adapt, he can mold himself in accordance with Furtwängler's metaphysical vision of the Brahms Concerto. It is of course in the 1949 recording with the Lucerne Festival Orchestra that one must listen to Menuhin throw himself at the notes while taking every imaginable risk. It is here that the Menuhin we will later come to know shows his colors, the Menuhin whose left hand climbs into the stratosphere while pulling at each note, catching it at the end of a finger and vibrating it to limit the risk of going astray. Menuhin is establishing his own style, a lively sound snatched from the string (as opposed to that of Oistrakh who plays with the weight of the sound).

Menuhin's system is thus established. From that base, anything is possible, especially encounters with the most diverse aesthetic worlds. Furtwängler, but also, later, such different musicians as Wilhelm Kempff, Glenn Gould or even David Oïstrakh: who has not been moved by the performance of the two violinists in Bach's Double Concerto in Bruno Monsaingeon's film "Le Violon du siècle"? To understand Menuhin's ability to adapt, gliding into the slow movement while listening to Oïstrakh, one must compare this recording to that made with his teacher, Enesco. These are two different worlds, and nonetheless the same Menuhin. We will skip over the more exotic encounters with jazz and non-Western music, to Menuhin's encounters with himself.

Menuhin's discography contains a large number of "remakes": the well-known concertos, the Bach Sonatas and Partitas for violin solo, the Bartok... As with Furtwängler, these "remakes" are always recreations and not repetitions. The tempos, fingering, bowing, all change. The general expression (striking in the Bach) and the technique are used to seek serenity and balance, even if the hands seem to be at odds with the demands of the music.

There is thus no definitive interpretation for Menuhin, but the search for repose, for a place where music, far from any pretension, vibrates naturally, where it can breathe more than show off. This opening of musical feeling beyond technique and schools, this fierce desire to gather music at the source, can be found today in a Gidon Kremer or a Gil Shaham. It is in this sense that Menuhin's lesson remains exemplary, today more than ever: born in America when Heifetz was triumphing in the media, Menuhin died in Berlin, closer to Adolf Busch and Wilhelm Furtwängler.



If you value our features and reviews, please tell a friend or join our mailing list!

E-mail to klassiknet | Back to klassiknet | Back to Culturekiosque

Copyright © 1996 - 2007 Euromedia Group Ltd
All Rights Reserved

KlassikNet: Features
You are in:  Home > KlassikNet: Classical Music > Features   •  Archives   •  send page to a friend






Yehudi Menuhin



Yehudi Menuhin



Yehudi and Hephzibah Menuhin



Yehudi Menuhin



Yehudi Menuhin



Photos : EMI



Yehudi Menuhin (1916-1999)
Trois étapes dans la vie d'un violoniste

Par Eric Taver

PARIS, 25 mars 1999 - On a beaucoup rendu hommage " au musicien et surtout à l'homme " (entendu sur une radio) que fut Menuhin. Certains auront même confondu l'homme avec les entreprises qui profitaient du " logo " Menuhin pour prospérer dans son sillage. On en oublierait presque de parler du violoniste Menuhin, de ce phénomène qui a su à la fois sidérer l'Amérique de l'entre-deux-guerres, commander et créer un des chefs-d'œuvre du XXe siècle - la Sonate pour violon seul de Bartók -, et donner la réponse dans les plus grands concertos du répertoire allemand à l'un des maîtres de la tradition - Wilhelm Furtwaengler.

Menuhin est d'abord un phénomène américain. Il est probablement le premier enfant prodige du violon issu du Nouveau Monde, et fêté par lui. Je ne lui vois qu'un prédécesseur : Louis Persinger. Né à Rochester, enfant prodige mais vite oublié, ayant bénéficié de l'enseignement du violoniste belge Ysaÿe, Persinger sera ensuite, entre 1914 et 1915, violon solo du Philharmonique de Berlin d'Arthur Nikisch, avant d'être le premier grand professeur de… Yehudi Menuhin. On le verra, la carrière de Louis Persinger est une véritable répétition générale de celle de Menuhin, comme si les Etats-Unis avaient eu besoin d'un prototype avant de pouvoir engendrer Menuhin.

Son second grand professeur, auprès de qui il se sentait " un nain ", sera Enesco. Enesco n'est pas Américain, mais c'est un déraciné. A Vienne, puis à Paris, où il est l'élève du belge Martin Marsick, Enesco est Roumain. Mais dans son pays, il n'est pas Roumain, il est Moldave. De Persinger en Enesco, Menuhin reçoit donc un enseignement issu de l'école franco-belge, mais réinventé par des exilés. En fait, le violon de Menuhin est un violon d'autodidacte, un violon neuf comme l'Amérique est neuve.

On comprend mieux, en écoutant ses enregistrements d'avant-guerre, la fameuse déclaration de Menuhin proclamant qu'il voulait cumuler " l'élégance de Kreisler, la sonorité d'Elman (" le violon qui parle ") et la technique de Heifetz ". Car le modèle de carrière en ces années d'avant-guerre, c'est bien sûr Heifetz. Menuhin est né en 1916, et Heifetz est arrivé aux Etats-Unis en 1917, où sa virtuosité fait l'effet d'une bombe : toute l'éducation du jeune Yehudi se fait au milieu des acclamations que l'Amérique adresse à Heifetz. Ses premiers enregistrements, les plus passionnants violonistiquement, en témoignent.

Heifetz, du strict point de vue de la technique, c'est déjà notre époque. Mais, il faut l'avouer, le style de Heifetz, assez prétentieux avec son violon placé très haut, n'est pas encore le nôtre. Il faudra attendre une autre génération pour que ce sentiment d'un charme un peu désuet disparaisse définitivement.

Ces premiers violonistes à parler un langage qui nous soit encore contemporain, ce seront Milstein, Oïstrakh, et Menuhin. Ils domineront l'après-guerre. Or, à cette époque, Menuhin n'est déjà plus le flamboyant prodige qu'il a été. Les événements lui ont fait acquérir une sorte d'humilité nouvelle, de responsabilité nouvelle. De plus, ayant commandé une " petite pièce " à Bartók, pour l'aider, il se retrouve, en 1944, à devoir défendre un chef-d'œuvre, et à devoir se battre pour en maîtriser les terribles difficultés techniques. Ecoutez la fugue de cette Sonate dans l'enregistrement de 1947, jouée lentement, obstinément, avec plus de ténacité que de panache. Menuhin s'y bat contre sa propre facilité.

Mais, pour Menuhin, la grande affaire de l'après-guerre, c'est la rencontre avec Furtwaengler. En réhabilitant le chef allemand accusé de sympathies pro-nazies, c'est aussi toute une tradition, toute une culture allemande - celle-là même qu'il avait à peine découverte durant deux étés auprès du violoniste allemand Adof Busch - que ce violoniste juif new-yorkais entend défendre au milieu des flons-flons de l'Amérique triomphante. Et, parce qu'il a appris à chercher, à s'adapter, il pourra se mouler dans la vision métaphysique du Concerto de Brahms qui est celle de Furtwaengler. C'est bien sûr dans la version de 1949, avec l'Orchestre du Festival de Lucerne, qu'il faut entendre Menuhin se jeter sur les notes en prenant tous les risques. C'est ici que le Menuhin que nous connaîtrons ensuite se fait jour, celui dont la main gauche monte dans l'aigu en tirant sur la note, l'attrapant du bout du doigt et vibrant pour atténuer le risque de dérapage. C'est là qu'on voit se fixer ce son arraché, très dans la corde, mais aussi toujours dynamique (à la différence de celui d'Oïstrakh, qui joue avec la pesanteur).

Le système Menuhin est alors en place. A partir de là, tout est possible, et surtout les rencontres avec les mondes esthétiques les plus divers. Furtwaengler donc, mais aussi, plus tard, des musiciens aussi différents que Wilhelm Kempff, Glenn Gould ou même David Oïstrakh : qui n'a été ému par la rencontre des deux violonistes dans le Double Concerto de Bach qu'on trouve dans le film de Bruno Monsaingeon " Le Violon du siècle " ? Pour comprendre cette capacité d'adaptation de Menuhin, se glissant dans le mouvement lent tout à l'écoute d'Oïstrakh, il faut comparer cet enregistrement à celui que le violoniste avait gravé en compagnie de son maître Enesco. Ce sont deux mondes, et pourtant c'est le même Menuhin.

On passera sur les rencontres plus exotiques avec le jazz et les musiques non occidentales, pour retenir enfin les rencontres de Menuhin avec lui-même. La discographie de Menuhin contient en effet un nombre très importants de " remake " : les grands concertos, les sonates et partitas pour violon seul de Bach, la Sonate de Bartók… Comme chez Furtwaengler, ces " remake " sont à chaque fois des recréations et non des répétitions. Les tempos, les doigtés, les coups d'archet, tout change. L'expression général (c'est frappant dans Bach) est, au même titre que la technique, à la recherche de la sérénité, de l'équilibre, même si les moyens semblent fuir devant l'exigence.

Il n'y a donc pas d'interprétation définitive avec Menuhin, mais une quête du repos, d'un lieu où la musique serait, loin de toute esbroufe, naturellement vivante, où elle se respire plus qu'elle ne se montre. Cette ouverture du sentiment musical au-delà de la technique et des écoles, cette volonté farouche d'aller cueillir la musique à la source, on la retrouve aujourd'hui chez un Gidon Kremer, ou un Gil Shaham. C'est en ce sens que la leçon de Menuhin demeure, aujourd'hui plus que jamais : élevé en Amérique, au temps des triomphes médiatiques de Heifetz, Menuhin est mort à Berlin, au plus près d'Adolf Busch et de Wilhelm Furtwaengler.




E-mail à klassiknet | Retour à klassiknet | Retour à Culturekiosque

If you value this page, please tell a friend or join our mailing list.



Copyright © 1996 - 2007 Euromedia Group Ltd
All Rights Reserved