KlassikNet: Classical Music News
You are in:  Home > KlassikNet: Classical Music > News   •  Archives   •  send page to a friend

Headline Feed
Email to a friend




Staff Report

NEW YORK, 17 JANUARY 2006— The Milan-based Argentine pianist Ingrid Fliter has been named the recipient of the 2006 Gilmore Artist Award, it was announced yesterday by Daniel R. Gustin, the Director of The Gilmore. One of today’s most significant honors for pianists, the Gilmore Artist Award is given every four years on a non-competitive basis to a pianist of truly exceptional quality, regardless of age or nationality. Ms. Fliter will receive $300,000 in support of her musical and career goals over the next four years. Previous recipients of the Gilmore Artist Award are Piotr Anderszewski (2002), Leif Ove Andsnes (1998), Ralf Gothóni (1994), and David Owen Norris (1991).

"With a world of pianists to choose from," Gustin said in a statement to the press, "we spent over two years listening to many greatly talented artists, but in the end we were unanimously swept away by Ingrid Fliter’s astonishing pianist prowess and her overall musicianship."

Ms. Fliter has been noted for her skill and elegance in performances throughout the world since her career was launched at the age of sixteen at the Teatro Colón in Buenos Aires. The thirty-two year old pianist was a prizewinner in the "Ferruccio Busoni" Competition in Bolzano, Italy in 1998 and received a Silver Medal in the 2000 International Frederick Chopin Piano Competition in Warsaw. She has appeared in concert halls in cities across the globe, from Tokyo to New York; Budapest to Washington, DC.

Born in Buenos Aires in 1973, Ingrid Fliter began her piano studies in Argentina with Elizabeth Westerkamp. In 1992 she continued her studies with Vitalj Margulis in the Musikhochschule fur Musik in Freiburg, Germany, in 1994 in Rome with Carlo Bruno, and since 1996 has studied at the Academy "Incontri col Maestro" in Imola under the leadership of Franco Scala and Boris Petrushansky.

Founded in 1989, The Gilmore Artist Awards are given by the Irving S. Gilmore International Keyboard Festival. Operating under a unique system, candidates for the Gilmore Artist Award are nominated confidentially by a wide-ranging group of music professionals. They are then evaluated for their pianism and musicianship by a six-member advisory committee. Candidates do not know they are being evaluated, as the process is carried out anonymously. The advisory committee seeks an exceptional pianist who possesses broad and profound musicianship, and who desires and can sustain a career as a major international concert artist.

In addition to Dan Gustin, Director of the Gilmore, the Artistic Advisory Committee for the 2006 Gilmore Artist and Young Artist Awards included NancyBell Coe, Director of the Music Academy of the West, Santa Barbara, California; Ara Guzelimian, Senior Director and Artistic Advisor of Carnegie Hall; Charles Hamlen, Director of Classical Action, Performing Arts Against AIDS; Gilbert Kalish, concert pianist, Distinguished Professor of Music at SUNY at Stony Brook and Artist Member of the Lincoln Center Chamber Music Society; and Curtis Price, Principal of the Royal Academy of Music, London.


The Gilmore  

[ Feedback | Home ]

If you value this page, please send it to a friend.

Copyright © 2005 Euromedia Group, Ltd. All Rights Reserved.