KlassikNet: Classical Music News
You are in:  Home > KlassikNet: Classical Music > News   •  Archives   •  send page to a friend

Headline Feed
Email to a friend



Staff Report

SALZBURG, AUSTRIA, 14 December 2006—Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 – 1791) wrote more than 600 works. These works form the core of the classical music repertoire in the Mozart year 2006, the 250th anniversary of his birth. On 12 December 2006 the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum (ISM; International Mozart Foundation) in Salzburg launched a free website containing the 125 bound volumes of the complete text of Mozart’s works. Entitled NMA Online , the digital version of the Neue Mozart Ausgabe (NMA; New Mozart Edition), a scholarly edition of Mozart’s complete works  compiled by musicologists from around the world in the last 50 years, has been produced by the ISM in Salzburg in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute in Los Altos, California.

The online edition seeks to facilitate the systematic research on Mozart for musicologists and performers as well as making Mozart’s scores available to non-specialists with a simple, user-friendly interface. Comprehensive search capabilities allow users to easily find, study, and print any of Mozart’s works as PDF files. All digital rights to the NMA were acquired from Bärenreiter-Verlag in Kassel, the publisher of the printed edition.

Also included are 8,000 pages of critical reports with commentary on the state of the sources and giving detailed information on the variants found in the main sources.

The NMA complete works edition can be accessed free of charge at: http://dme.mozarteum.at

[ Feedback | Home ]

If you value this page, please send it to a friend.

Copyright © 2005 Euromedia Group, Ltd. All Rights Reserved.