KlassikNet: Classical Music News
You are in:  Home > KlassikNet: Classical Music > News   •  Archives   •  send page to a friend

Headline Feed
Email to a friend




By Culturekiosque Staff

LONDON, 21 JANUARY 2011 — Queen Elizabeth II has approved the award of Her Majesty's Medal for Music for the year 2010 to Dame Emma Kirkby, an English soprano who specializes in early music.

Dame Emma will be presented with the Medal by The Queen at an audience later this year, but an informal announcement will be made by Sir Peter Maxwell Davies, the Master of The Queen’s Music (a post like that of the Poet Laureate), at St John’s, Smith Square, on 26 January, where Dame Emma is performing.

Dame Emma is the sixth winner of the award, which was introduced in 2005 and is made annually to an individual (or group of musicians) judged to have had a major influence on the musical life of the nation. Previous winners are Sir Charles Mackerras (2005), Bryn Terfel (2006), Professor Judith Weir (2007), Kathryn Tickell (2008) and Sir Colin Davis (2009).

Dame Emma said she was "very pleased and grateful" to receive the Award. She said: "I feel extremely lucky to have worked so many years with excellent colleagues, both singers and instrumentalists, in the revival of music from the richest eras of our national heritage; this is repertoire offering joy and fulfilment to players and listeners alike and I am happy to see so many younger artists now adding their own voices to the endeavour." Sir Peter Maxwell Davies said: "I think it's marvellous that the world of early music has been recognised in this year's Queen’s Medal for Music, particularly that the award is going to Dame Emma Kirkby, who has done more than anybody to put this music in the centre of our musical consciousness."


1. The nominating process for the recipient of the medal is overseen by a Music Committee under the chairmanship of the Master of The Queen’s Music, Sir Peter Maxwell Davies.

2. The committee members are Sir Peter Maxwell Davies, The Lord Moser, William Lyne, Sir Nicholas Kenyon, Richard Morrison, The Hon. Sir Humphrey Maud and Michael Berkeley.

3. The 75mm medal is designed by Bethan Williams and is cast in silver. All costs relating to the medal are funded by the Privy Purse.

[ Feedback | Home ]

If you value this page, please send it to a friend.


Copyright © 2011 Euromedia Group, Ltd. All Rights Reserved.