Go to:
About CK •  Art • Chef • Dance • Jazz • Klassik • Nouveau • Opera • Travel Calendar
Log In • Sign Up
You are in:  Home > Travel Calendar > Classical Music in Germany   •  send page to a friend

Travel Tip: Classical Music in Germany
Berliner Philharmoniker

Riccardo Chailly
Riccardo Chailly
Berliner Philharmoniker : Riccardo Chailly, conductor
BERLIN  •  Berliner Philharmonie  •  Ongoing
Wagner: Faust Overture in D minor (2nd Version from 1855)
Liszt: A Faust Symphony

In his November appearances in Berlin, Italian conductor Riccardo Chailly begins the programme with Richard Wagner’s seldom performed Faust Overture. The main work is Franz Liszt’s Faust Symphony, whose first movement paraphrases a motif from the Wagner overture. The emotional music of the second movement (“Gretchen”) was praised by Liszt’s biographer Richard Pohl: “Even Liszt’s adversaries could not resist the spell of this Gretchen.” The ghostly third movement (“Mephistopheles”), in which the “Faust” themes are increasingly distorted and parodied, owes a debt to the finale of Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique (the opening bars of both finales are almost identical). At the end, the tension subsides – with a choral finale in radiant C major in which Liszt sets the last lines of Goethe’s Faust II.

Berliner Philharmoniker
Riccardo Chailly, conductor
Nikolai Schukoff, tenor
Herren des Rundfunkchors Berlin
Simon Halsey Chorus Master

Berliner Philharmoniker Website

Please click here for a Culturekiosque archive interview with Riccardo Chailly.

Detailed schedule information:

Contact: Berliner Philharmonie
Herbert-von-Karajan-Str. 1
10785 Berlin

Tel: (49) 30 25488 12

More Classical Music Travel Listings:

More Germany Travel Listings: